[Eng] Fourth International Baku Architecture Award


Residential Buildings Winner (2017) – Camilo Rebelo, Susana Martins (Portugal)

The Baku International Architecture Award is an open, biennial award organised by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan with the support of the International Union of Architects (UIA).

On the recommendation of the International Union of Architects (UIA), this fourth edition of the Award will be held in conjunction with the UIA International Forum on Mass Tourism in Historic Cities.

The main objective of the Award is to recognise projects (both proposed and completed) that exemplify excellent design practices and responsible planning as well as design and development for tourism in places of heritage and historical significance. This could include new facilities to accommodate tourists, sites of historical significance and the adaptive reuse of existing buildings for purposes related to tourism.


Entries are invited in the following categories:

A - best implemented project in the architecture of tourist facilities

B - best project undertaken in the field of rehabilitation and reconstruction of historic buildings and sites

C - best implemented restoration of historic interiors

D - best implemented rehabilitation of a site in the field of landscape architecture

E - best non-realised project in the field of restoration and reconstruction of buildings

F - best publication in the field of the use of historical heritage for tourism purposes


Architects qualified for architectural practice in their country of residence may participate in the Award. Each participant can submit only one project for each category and participation is free of charge.


The prize fund of 45,000 AZN will be awarded in the various categories as follows:

First prize of 4000 AZN
Second prize of 2500 AZN
Third prize of 1000 AZN


Vassilis Sgoutas, UIA Former President (Greece)
Esa Mohamed, UIA Immediate Past President (Malaysia)
Catherine Jacquot, Immediate Past President of the CNOA (France)
Victor Leonel, President of the Africa Union of Architects - AUA (Angola)
Elbay Gasim-Zada, Chairman of the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan


Announcement: 15 December 2018
Deadline for submitting questions: 1 April 2019
Deadline for receipt of entries: 20 May 2019
International jury: 8 - 9 June 2019
Announcement of the results: 10 June 2019


All questions concerning the Award procedure should be sent to Esta dirección de correo electrónico está siendo protegida contra los robots de spam. Necesita tener JavaScript habilitado para poder verlo.. Questions and their replies will be e-mailed by the UAA to all participants.

The Award procedure and regulations are available on the official website of the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan www.uaa.az 

Comparte este contenido

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para mejorar la experiencia de usuario. Si continua navegando, consideramos que acepta su uso. Si necesita más información acceda al enlace que se muestra a continuación o cierre esta ventana.